

For Immediate Release June 8, 2023

Company Contact

Kelly Blake Best Point 513.300.6132 kelly@lumenstrategy.com

BEST POINT EDUCATION AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH HOSTS 159th ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING AND DINNER

CINCINNATI – Best Point Education and Behavioral Health hosted their 159th Annual Membership Meeting and Dinner on June 7, at the organization's Heidt Center of Excellence. Best Point's 2023 Annual Meeting provided a state of the organization while also recognizing their staff, board members and trustees who have worked tirelessly over the years to serve the Best Point clients as well as integrate St. James, CATS and St. Aloysius into the organization.

The annual meeting was inaugurated by Brendon Cull, President and CEO of the Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce. Best Point announced that Mayor Aftab Pureval officially proclaimed June 7, 2023 as "Dr. Robert S. Heidt, Jr., M.D. Day" in Cincinnati for all his years of service at Best Point. Dr Heidt served as a board member from 2014-2023 and is now an Honorary Lifetime Trustee. Dr. Heidt's vision and leadership have led Best Point to triple our growth and reach. Dr. Heidt, his wife Julia and the Best Point Board and community invested in the 'Building Opportunity Capital Campaign', paving the way for the creation of the 'Heidt Center of Excellence'. The other official business conducted at the meeting was outgoing Board of Trustee chair, Mr. Tony Hobson passed the Gavel to new Chair of the Board of Trustees for the next two years, Karen Bankston.

Best Point's strategic partners and many public officials were in attendance including the Honorable Judge Kari Bloom; Delhi Township Trustee, The Honorable Cheryl Sieve; Judge Sylvia Henden; President and CEO of the United Way of Cincinnati, Moira Weir; President and CEO of Every Child Succeeds, Jennifer Frey; President and CEO of Bi3, Jill Miller; as well as the President and CEO of The Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce, Brendon Cull.

In addition, Best Point recognized staff and volunteers honoring them with a variety of awards.

- Presidential Award Winners: Jenny Carmen, Teresa Hortenberry, Ashundai Early, Dayna Coleman, Isaac Brown
- Best Point Promise Awards: Margaret "Maggie" Botts, Taja Sigmon, Leyla Ashraf
- Co Star Award Winners: Elaine Hamilton, Theresa Wandstrat
- Heidt Center of Excellence Award Winners: Brett Schmidt, Alex Gross, Meg Roe
- Best Point Education Award Winners: Katherine Glass, Tamica Thomas, Jacob Boehne
- Volunteer of the Year Award: LaSabra Hyden

###

About Best Point: Best Point Education and Behavioral Health is the result of two long-standing organizations, The Children's Home of Cincinnati, and St. Aloysius Orphanage, coming together to form a strategic partnership after a collective 347 years of service. Initially, each organization had a mission centered on saving children from the despair of neglect, abuse, and poverty. Now combined, Best Point continues that mission with the goal of effectively serving the most vulnerable. Today, Best Point impacts the lives of over 18,000 individuals annually, including services in over 70 partner schools and 300 neighborhoods.





Figure 1: Best Point 2023 Annual Meeting at the Heidt Center of Excellence



Figure 2: John Banchy, Best Point CEO announcing June 7, 2023 as "Dr. Robert S. Heidt Jr. Day" in Cincinnati, alongside Dr. Robert Heidt Jr. and Best Point student intern Daniel Smith.



Figure 3: John Banchy, Best Point CEO honoring Tony Hobson as outgoing Best Point Board of Trustee Chair





Figure 4: Karen Bankston begins her two year role as Best Point Board of Trustee Chair



Figure 5: Commissioner Stephanie Summerow Dumas announces Best Point's President Award Winners.



Figure 6: John Banchy, Best Point CEO with Volunteer of the Year Award Winner LaSabra Hyden.